Eddie Izzard, British Comic, Joins Cast of The United States of Tara

Eddie Izzard, a British comic joins the cast of The United States of Tara as her professor of abnormal psychology. He finds the role complex and the character “brilliant”.
Izzard: My new character’s a genius

(UKPA) – 1 day ago

“Eddie Izzard has revealed he’ll never abandon stand-up, but says he’s looking for more than just laughs as an actor.

The British comic decided to guest star in the Stateside TV series US Of Tara – which stars Toni Collette as a suburban mum with multiple personalities – because of the show’s complexity.

“I normally try not to do comedies, but it’s a dramatic comedy, a drama with a comedic edge. There seem to be two different types of comedies that exist these days. I thought, ‘Let’s go do it,'” he said.

Eddie plays a professor who meets Tara when she decides to finish her college degree and signs up for his abnormal psychology class….” Retrieved 4/27/11. Full Article:  British Comic, Eddie Izzard

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Jellybean

     /  04/29/2011

    Everything V said X2.

    I have mixed feelings about the Hollywood portrayals of DID. Fight Club is one of my all-time favorite movies, and I’ve enjoyed several Agatha Christie mysteries which use the device for a plot twist.

    Yet, I know these things are not harmless. People forget where they first heard the idea (fact or fiction), and only recall that they’ve heard it can happen. They don’t know if they learned it from Scientific American Mind magazine, or the latest Batman movie.

    I’ve never seen the United State of Tara, but I know that Colin Ross was consulted on it… That should be the comedic part. He should guest star someday and explain his whole theory about the CIA Alpha-Omega mind control plot.
    Then, Tara walks into a sorority swap-meet and has seizures when the Theta Phi Alphas and the Delta Lamba Nu’s introduce themselves.

    Even BETTER – Have Izzard play Ross wearing the tinfoiled aqua-goggles, and trying to make a computer burp using his telekinetic spidey-eyes.

    Like

    Reply
    • You are too much, Jellybean. Many of us would love to see Ross do a walk on – particularly Doug Mesner who has written extensively about his theories and has interviewed him as well. Have you read him at theprocess.org? If that is wrong, just google his name. Easy way to find pics of Ross and his tin-foil goggles.

      I agree with you regarding how people get knowledge without knowing where that knowledge came from after time passes. I have conversations with believers all the time who refuse to acknowledge that the history of DID has everything to do with the present. I encourage reading and using reason but it doesn’t seem like that happens. I do, however, recognize that this may just be a way to discount my experiences by saying that they are out of date and no longer applicable.

      Like

      Reply
      • Sorry, I drifted off topic.

        I’ve seen about 4 episodes of Tara. It’s entertaining, but so absurd that it didn’t keep my attention. Plus, I refuse to pay a cable company to see junk like that on a TV.

        I’m not familiar with Izzard’s work, but I would be interested in this plot twist – if Tara comes in a cable package that doesn’t cost extra, I’ll tune in. Otherwise, they can have a grand ole time without me. lol

        Like

        Reply
  2. V

     /  04/29/2011

    I love Eddie Izzard. He is brilliant.

    I feel sad he is part of this sort of thing. Hollywood has always used DID for entertainment, and it seems to work for them and entertain people. But I think it’s one of those things that makes it seem normal and leads vulnerable people into harmful therapies.

    I guess actors probably take the roles that they can get and that pay them, and you can’t blame Hollywood for the fraud that was started by psychiatrists. The psychiatrists are ultimately responsible, I think.

    Like

    Reply
    • V., Izzard says that he found the character intriguing & brilliant and it is probably a challenge to him, yet still comedic. He may know little about the diagnosis. Collette, if I remember correctly, says she stays away from survivors who are also advisers to the show.

      Obviously, a lot of people look at Tara as entertainment. It does give it a bit of legitimacy to DID, but I think it is more buffoonery. I read comments by believers in DID venting how they are upset with the show and complain that it isn’t reality which is not a depiction of the “illness”. This diagnosis is so outlandish and off the wall that TV is a perfect forum for it – whereas it has no place in a medical psychotherapy room.

      One of Tara’s main expert consultants is Richard Kluft, MD. He is THE name in DID. In a way, I think he turned his back on his followers and went for the money and notoriety of the show – no matter how much nonsense it portrays. Some, like the International Society for the Study of Trauma & Dissociation (ISSTD) wrote Spielberg a letter of thanks and think it is good publicity. See one of my posts under Tara for what the Society said.

      If the show were true to life, it would Have to depict Tara perhaps as drug addicted and spacey from it, talking like a baby (note Spielberg & Kluft decided not to show that aspect of DID) Tara would spend much time in bed crying, perhaps being suicidal and/or cutting herself, accusing a perpetrator – which you will note is Not her father or any other family member as most DID people accuse of the sexual abuse. This would Not make for good TV, or publicity about DID. Kluft is a good promoter of his interests if nothing else.

      Like

      Reply

What do you think?

