The Rob Kenward Story: Queensland, falsely accused based on repressed memories

Rob Kenward was jailed on child sex charges after a grown woman suddenly ‘remembered’ her abuse at his hands. The experience made him question his sanity. CHRIS TAYLOR reports

How I endured a living hell in jail for a crime that I didn’t commit.

For the past three years, Rob Kenward’s life has been a nightmare from which he imagined he would never wake. Accused of the most hideous of crimes.

Mr Kenward was tried four times on what amounted to very little more than flimsy allegations and distant, murky memories. All because a little girl he had known grew into a woman who – in effect, in the eyes of the law – cried wolf.

Mr Kenward was accused of raping the girl who had, long ago, lived in his household.

It was an allegation that evolved into a marathon journey through Queensland’s justice system and eventually led to a prison cell.

The allegations came after the woman started treatment under psychologists at the age of 30 and suddenly “remembered” ongoing childhood sex abuse.
There was no physical evidence and little corroboration of supposed facts.
Nothing more than allegations that seemed to snowball with time and ended four times before the Supreme Court.

Last week, Mr Kenward was vindicated when the Court of Appeal threw the matter out in a ruling which questions the practice of basing cases on allegations arising from “repressed memory syndrome”.

But not before the whiteknuckle terror of incarceration at, one of the state’s toughest prisons where, unprotected, he was the target of an on-going campaign of abuse by his fellow inmates who considered him the lowest of the low.

Men convicted of child sex offences are the most loathed of inmates in the prison pecking order. Dubbed a “rock spider” on arrival, he was threatened with violence and sexual abuse, constantly intimidated and, during one incident,
doused in urine.

“You learn very quickly,” Mr Kenward said.“They hunt you down like a pack of animals. “You are spat on, you have to live with eyes in the back of your head.

“One man had boiling water poured over him, another bloke was stabbed through the eye with a pencil.

“I really felt like my mind was leaving me. I was losing it. It has an effect on you every day, even now. “There’s probably not a minute in the day where it doesn’t run through my mind. It plays on me … sounds in the night are unbearable.”

The Appeal Court ruling was unanimous that the convictions against Mr Kenward be quashed and no order was made for a new trial.

Now absolved, an innocent man, the 47-year-old is to launch legal action against
Queensland Corrections for the abuse and psychological trauma he suffered while in prison.

He is still angry that police based a case, and the courts ruled, on what appeared to be two-decades old, unsubstantiated claims based on repressed memories.

At the same time, a new report to the International Commission of Jurists has urged an investigation into the largely discredited repressed-memory syndrome, claiming at least 13 men are serving prison terms in Queensland because of similar allegations.

Mr Kenward, a Cairns plumber, is attempting to rebuild his life after the legal battle which has left him emotionally and financially drained.

The appeal ruling completely discredited the very basis of the case but it cost Mr Kenward and his wife Pat $150,000 in legal fees to get there.

“At first I thought it had to be a joke … but it all snowballed to unbelievable proportions,” he said. I think it says a lot that all of our friends stood by us.
“As soon as it all blew up, Pat was on the phone telling people in case they heard about it and the reaction was like one big shock. Nobody could believe it.

“People, especially young blokes. should know it can happen to them, it can happen to anyone. “I feel sorry for young fellows today. If they have little kids, I tell them don’t even give your kids a bath. “It’s a sad way to live but that’s what the world’s come to.”

The complainant and her sister lived in Mr Kenward’s household with their mother in the mid-1980s. While the children and their mother did not continue to live with him, he remained friendly, staying in touch and visiting them on frequent trips to Brisbane.

It was shortly after he became involved with Pat that. the allegations surfaced.

According to the Appeal Court’s published ruling, the complainant started attending the Royal Brisbane Hospital for a shoulder injury in 1995. At the time she was also assessed by an occupational therapist and a psychologist to
ascertain whether her “chronic pain” might have a psychological basis. When she uncovered the alleged memories of childhood sexual abuse, she also made
similar allegations – for the first time – in relation to another man.

Mr Kenward’s first trial in June 1998 resulted in a hung jury. Second and third trials were aborted, in one case by a trial judge who ruled against “gratuitous
and prejudicial” evidence given by a key witness.

In April this year Mr Kenward was again arraigned on sex charges and found guilty at trial of one count of rape and one of indecent dealing but acquitted on four others. He was sentenced to six years in prison and spent several months behind bars before being allowed bail pending his appeal.

Last week, Appeal Court judges William Pincus, James Thomas and Brian Ambrose unanimously ruled the two convictions should be set aside and made no order for a new trial. Justice Pincus said that, considering the evidence was based on events that were alleged to have taken place more than 20 years before the date of the last trial, it was hardly surprising there would be “considerable” discrepancies in the recollections of the woman and her lounger [sic] sister.

Justice Thomas said the unfairness of the “unresponsive, emotional and highly prejudicial” evidence, coupled with the behaviour in court of the woman who made the allegations, would have been enough to justify the quashing of the convictions.

He described the convictions against Mr Kenward as “unsafe and unsatisfactory” on the presented evidence.

Justice Ambrose said the evidence of the sisters was contradictory “in every material respect”. He found the trial judge failed to correctly address the jury on crucial evidence. “The attention of the jury was not drawn to the inconsistencies between the evidence of the complainant and the evidence of the sister with respect to either (charge).” he ruled.

He found the judge should have discharged the trial jury in light of the behaviour of a key witness who made several outbursts from the dock.

At one stage, she yelled: “If he cared he’d admit what you (sic) did to me, for God’s sake, and tell me that you’re sorry.” On another occasion she walked past the dock and said to Mr Kenward: “You make me sick, you do – the whole thing. Disgusting pig.”

Justice Ambrose said: “In my view the directions given in the course of the trial and summing up were quite insufficient to remove the prejudicial effect that they must have had upon the jury.”

Mr Kenward’s lawyer Alan Bennett, from Forest Lake Lawyers, described the result as a major victor, but said he found it incredible the matter went before the Supreme Court four times. “The absolute tragedy of the whole thing is that this family had to endure those four trials before he was finally vindicated.” he
said.

Mike Cox, president of Queensland-based Australian False Memory Association, said the Kenward case was the tip of the iceberg. In his report to the International Commission of Jurists, he details the cases of 13 Queensland men who are either serving prison terms or have in the past, based on similar allegations.

Mr Cox said it was irresponsible and dangerous for Queensland’s justice system to rely on repressed memory evidence which, like the allegations in the Kenward trial, can be up to 20 years old.

“If this were an isolated case it would be disturbing enough but we know it’s not an isolated case, he said. “There are men serving sentences in Queensland prisons today and each of their cases are a matter of extreme concern.

“The charges go back many years, there is often no corroboration of evidence between witnesses, there’s psychiatric counselling involved and there’s a general lack of knowledge and understanding within the legal community which is dealing with the cases.

“All round, there’s an abysmal ignorance (of repressed memory syndrome). A lot of these cases should never have been allowed to even get to a court stage.”

A report commissioned by the British Royal College of Psychiatrists in 1997 destroyed the credibility of recovered memory therapy, claiming not one allegation resulting from the treatment has ever been satisfactorily proven.

In short, the treatment advocates the belief that adults suffering from depression or other psychological illnesses can trace their conditions to childhood abuse.

Failure to remember the abuse is taken as proof by psychologists using the therapy that childhood trauma occurred but is being repressed, according to the British report.

In many cases, memories are “recovered” simply by using such techniques such as word association; in others, hypnosis is used.

Respected neuropsychologist Andrew Gibbs, an outspoken critic of repressed
memory techniques, says they have no foundation and are “scientifically unsupported and dubious”.

“Historically, it’s been proven to be just nonsense,” he said.

“Is there any foundation for this mechanism of memory? No. Is there any foundation for the methods used? No. “Just through the use of language you can easily convince a vulnerable person that they have a choice between deciding if they are crazy or blaming their state on a bad memory.

“Our memories are not fixed and stored like a tape recorder.

“Effectively, they are narratives of our lives and in some instances, in a person who is depressed or vulnerable or suffering sleep deprivation, you can reshape that.

“But, having said that, I also have concerns about these techniques from the point of view of people who have actually been abused.”
Mr Kenward now questions why he was not  placed in a protected prison environment rather than a high-security institution where  he was vulnerable to attack. A Corrections Services spokesman said it was normal procedure to send freshly convicted prisoners to such prisons, regardless of their crimes, until placement in protected institutions could be arranged.

Surprisingly, Mr Kenward feels no anger toward his accuser and in fact hopes she is able to receive legitimate psychological counselling.
“I do feel sorry for her, believe it or not. She obviously needs help and I don’t think the right thing has been done by her in the past.

“I blame the psychologists. We need to flush some of these people out.
“In the end, they can do incredible damage.”
This article originally appeared in the Sunday
Mail (Brisbane, Australia), December 3, 2000.
Permission to reproduce is greatfully [sic] acknowledged.

Rob Kenward story.pdf Retrieved 7/9/11.

Leave a comment

48 Comments

  1. It would be wonderful for me if every person who reads these websites Re: Robert Kenward knew the truth. He knows the truth as I do.

    The repressed memory therapy claims were used in court for him to win his appeal.
    The reason there were so many court cases was due to him sacking his own barrister in one case.
    Another was a hung during because a few of the members of the jury were so sickened by the evidence that did not continue. The case could not go ahead. Of course their were outbursts in the court after the witness endured so many court cases. The difference between the sisters evidence was due to the fact the abuse was never discussed between them until the older sister told her she had told her mother.

    The counselling mentioned was for pain management only and during one of the appointments the counsellor asked questions about childhood and relationships with her mother and father.
    Mentioned was she had a stepfather who abused her.

    This counsellor was not the first person she had told of the abuse. Her former partner was aware and the relationship broke down after he was told.

    How do I know this ?

    Well I am sick and tired of reading Robert Kenward was falsely jailed due to repressed memory therapy.

    If there ever was any repressed memory counselling performed I would have known.

    I was the young girl he sexually abused. We did not live in his house hold. He moved in with my mother and sister when I was approximately 9 yrs of age. He lived in my mother’s household.

    I always remembered the abuse or should I say, ” Our little secret ” as he called it.

    I was not advised of his appeal and his false claims of myself having repressed memory therapy was manifested to win his case. There was evidence of this therapy because there was no therapy.

    Narelle

    Like

    Reply
    • CORRECTION
      There was No evidence of this therapy because there was no therapy

      Like

      Reply
    • Jeannette Bartha

       /  02/02/2013

      Thank you Narelle for your insights.

      I’m sorry to learn of your abuse experienced, but I am glad you “always remembered the abuse or should I say, ” Our little secret ” as he called it.” as painful as that probably is. “Remembering” abuse one allegedly claims happened decades earlier attaches with it questions, and rightly so according to memory researchers.

      Like

      Reply
      • That is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. If the abuse was only remembered after repressed memory therapy, I must say I don’t even know what this type of therapy is as I have never had it. So I won’t even go there.

        A childhood memory of any kind is of a particular event in ones life. Do you remember attending primary school, who were your friends, what school did you attend, what did your bedroom look like, what were your parents like, how did they treat you ??

        There are many memories of events in every persons life that stand out more vividly than most memories. Whether this be yesterday, last year or much longer.
        Tell a war veteran his memories aren’t real !!!

        I’m astounded how a person, “Robert Kenward” could be released from prison by winning an appeal based on the fact of repressed memory therapy. His words were, ” we need those records ”
        Well there are NO RECORDS as the therapy was never undertaken by me.

        I am not looking for sympathy of any kind. That’s not who I am. I am a very strong person now.
        I just want to right the wrongs about his FALSE claim. I don’t want him or any other filthy child manipulator to use the excuse of repressed memory therapy to not be penalised by our pathetic justice system.

        Narelle

        Like

        Reply
        • Jeannette Bartha

           /  02/03/2013

          Hi Narelle,

          You don’t seem to be looking for sympathy, but to set the record straight and give your side of the story – which is absolutely fair or proper.

          Are you saying that Kenward’s representatives are stating you were in therapy and that’s how you “remembered” abuse? Where you were never in therapy and always remembered what happened? Do I have that right?

          Like

          Reply
          • Yes Jeanette that’s exactly what happened. The first two court case there was no mention of me having repressed memory therapy. Then this idea came up that I have this therapy and suddenly remember being abused. I do want to right the wrongs with all there web sites claiming abuse was only remembered after therapy. This is no not true.
            I had a serious shoulder injury and the workers compensation board sent me to a counsellor for pain management. I only had a few appointments in the Brisbane City. This is the counsellor they were claiming gave me the memory therapy. Unfortunately for me she wouldn’t testify and wouldn’t produce records. I may still have some records.

            Later I was admitted to the Royal Brisbane Hospital for pain management for 10 days, during which time I had 3 nerve blocks, so as I could move my right arm, frozen shoulder. A pain management counsellor spoke to me once on how to manage the pain.

            The idea of me having had this therapy was pursued in the last court case. As there was no evidence of any such therapy, the judge wouldn’t allow this rep from the AFMA Australian False Memory Association to pursue the claims.

            Months later I was told by my sister that Robert Kenward was released from prison months before and she and my mother didn’t want me to know.
            I was mortified!

            Then I received a phone call that their was a story in the Courier Mail. I went and bought this paper.

            The utter bull shit written angered me. I contacted the paper to speak to Chris Taylor, the reporter.
            He would not speak to me or return my calls.

            I searched the Internet on a regular basis and came across the 07.30 Report. I told my sister and she knew about it as Simon Royal the reporter had contacted my sister, to obtain my contact details. She told me that she told him, do a story about something else, he’s guilty.

            I purchased a copy of this video from the ABC and was absolutely sickened by what I saw.

            I also contacted the AFMA as they use the Robert Kenward story for their web page.
            No reply of course.

            God only knows how he has gotten away with such ridiculous allegations and won an appeal with it and why was I never advised by the DPP Director of Public Prosecution he was appealing.
            I could have gathered my records under the freedom of information act and presented them.

            I am way past letting that prick enter my thoughts and controlling my happiness. He already destroyed my childhood and most probably any type of normal relationship I could have had with my sister and mother, including past relationships I have had.

            The justice system is all wrong. One thing I did take delight in, was reading the courier mail. The torment he spoke of from the few months he did serve in prison. I wonder how he felt being so vulnerable. Just like I was as a child.

            Narelle

            Like

          • Jeannette Bartha

             /  02/04/2013

            oh my Narelle. In the US, an attorney can depose anyone so your pain counselor would have had to surrender records and show up.

            So what makes the authorities think this treatment was responsible for memories? Is it the drugs? I also don’t understand why this would fracture your relationship with you mother and sister. I hope your relationship has mended. a

            Best, Jeannette

            Like

          • Jeanette

            The drugs? I am very anti drugs. Do you mean nerve blocks? It was an injection in my neck to paralyse the nerve which runs down the arm. When the arm completely had no feelings, the physio manipulates and moves the limb to break up adhesions to assist gaining movement.
            That’s the best I can describe the nerve blocks.

            I have never in my life taken illegal drugs!
            I have never really had a relationship with my mother. When I was a child she was aggressive and physically abusive toward me. I feel this is how Robert Kenward was able to get away with what he did to me. She would be flogging me with the jug cord and he would always protect me.
            He use to say all the time, ” don’t worry little one, I’ll protect you”

            My sister blames me for my mother’s diagnosis of Bi polar and severe depression.
            She told me, “mum is like this from the court cases.” She’s always been self absorbed, my mother. I believe she is a narcissist and always has been.

            To this day I have never spoken to my mother or sister of any detail of what he did to me.
            My sister has never asked me because she remembers things herself and doesn’t want to know or speak about it.

            My mother has phoned me on a few occasions, crying in a depressive mood, telling me, ” I have to know what he did”
            This makes me angry, because I don’t want to be reminded. I get angry and hang up on her.

            I have nothing to do with her at all now, as when she had yet another suicide attempt, I went to the hospital. She was admitted into the mental health hospital. She lives a few hours away from me so I had to stay at her home whilst she was in the mental health ward.

            I attended a meeting the following day with my mother, a nurse, two pyschiatrists and my uncle who had been staying with her.
            My mother belittled her brother then turned to the doctors and said, ” my ex husband raped her!”

            I stood up and I was so angry that she tried to turn her mental state onto me. I told her exactly what I thought of her and it was her fault. Then I left. The nurse followed to console me. She told me if she were her mother she would have nothing to do with her.

            I honestly believe my mother played an enormous part, for allowing him to do what he did to me. How could a mother not know! I wet the bed as a child and she use to rub the sheets in my face.
            I hated her so much!

            How easy it was for him to manipulate me to believing he was the only person who really cared about me and he would protect me from her.

            It may sound strange, but all I wanted was an apology. I still do. I want him to tell me he’s so sorry for what he did to me. Oh … the charges were minimal compared to what really happened. The abuse started not long after my mother started a relationship with him until I was 15, when I was told to leave home. My mother left the house and wasn’t going to return until I was gone.

            About 1994 he was in Brisbane to go to the Indy on the Gold Coast, he wanted to borrow my car to drive there. I picked him up from his friends home and was driving to my home, whilst i was driving he asked, “how old are the kids now, they’re getting big ” When I told him, he said, “shit hey, you were not much older than that when I started taking advantage of you.”

            A thousand thoughts raced through my mind. I wanted to drive the car into a tree and kill him, but my children were in the car.
            I was thinking, you’re not sorry for what you did to me at all.
            I didn’t speak to him at all, I was thinking of how gross he was.

            This was the very first time he had spoken of it and I never had.
            I always thought, maybe he was sorry.
            To me, whilst nobody knew, I had a dad! Every time I thought this I cried for years.

            Over time I was thinking of all the things he did. I was jumping out of bed in the mornings to vomit. My fiancé didn’t know as I had never told anyone. One night the phone rang and it was him. I told my fiancé I didn’t want to talk to him, hang up. He wouldn’t hang the phone up, so I walked over, took the phone and hung up.
            My fiancé, asked why did I do that. I was shaking, crying and told him about what he said to me in my car and that he had abused me as a child until i was 15. I told him my mother doesn’t know and was told, ” if you dont tell her I will.” So I phoned her and told her. As usual she was rambling anout herself, then stopped and said what did he do. My relationship with my fiancé ended permanently with in a month or so.

            Time past and I received a call that my mother had tried to commit suicide. My sister visited me and was very angry telling me to put the blame where it belongs. She blamed me for my mother’s depression because I had told her that he abused me.
            This day, whilst my sister was present and listening on the other phone, I phoned him to confront him for what he did to me. He told me, he didnt do anything and I’ve always had problems from what my mother did to me and I only had him. He said he protected me from her and all he did was love me.
            My sister interrupted and he was shocked, thinking she was my mother. She told him, ” you know damn well what you did”

            The call ended. I couldn’t believe his words. He wasn’t sorry at all. That’s when my anger flared. I was worried he may hurt another child and I didn’t want that to happen.

            I phoned the police to only speak with a female officer to have him charged.

            Mind you, all this happened before I had seen either of the two counsellors for pain management from my shoulder injury.

            Wow this is a long email, sorry but writing of this stirs things up inside me.

            Narelle

            Like

          • Jeannette Bartha

             /  02/05/2013

            Hi Narelle, Your childhood was frantic. No need to be sorry about writing. These issues stir things in all of us.

            I wasn’t asking if you took illicit drugs. I was wondering if the treatment included memory enhancing drugs like sodium amytal which my Dr. gave me. I thought they may have used that against you.

            Being raised by a mother with bipolar disorder is difficult, I’m sure. It was for you. Glad your sister is sticking up for you. That’s a big deal to me.

            Anyway, wish you the best. Hope coming here gave you a forum that was helpful.

            Best, Jeanette

            Like

          • Jeanette

            I have never heard of memory enhancing drugs, that’s really interesting as I work in the medical industry.

            My mother’s bi polar was only diagnosed a few years ago. My sister has an aggressive nature and it is difficult to talk to her about anything personal. I cut ties with her and my mother. Removing the negativity from my life has been very beneficial.

            My sister has told me on quite a few occasions mum is only like this because of the court cases.
            Well as far as I am concerned 10 yrs have passed for her, it’s time she got over it and moved on.
            I told her, I had too deal with it a lot longer than her.

            She has had numerous suicide attempts and I am we’ll and truly over her attention seeking crap.
            I’m just waiting for the call she was successful. I believe you can’t help anyone who won’t help themself.

            I read your recent comments. I was unaware, are you associated with the AFMA?

            Narelle

            Like

          • Jeannette Bartha

             /  02/06/2013

            Drugs considered hypnotics are pentobarbital, sodium amytal (what I was given) and simply alcohol.

            A technique I was subjected to – to enhance memory recall – or truth serum is a “sodium Amytal interview” I was administered the drug intravenously. Gees, I haven’t said that for a long time – it sounds barbaric, but that what the man did so I could “remember” abuse that in reality wasn’t there.

            “I believe you can’t help anyone who won’t help themself.” I agree with you, totally.

            I am not associated with the Australian False Memory Association – it was simply a post. I do, however, know people who are.

            Best.

            Like

          • Jeannette Bartha

             /  02/06/2013

            Here is a link to an article about truth serums and how they can facilitate false recall and false allegations of wrongdoing.

            “TRUTH SERUM” AND “WHAT REALLY HAPPENED”
            by August Piper Jr., M.D.

            http://www.fmsfonline.org/truthserum.html

            Like

  2. geri cisk

     /  08/09/2011

    Let’s backtrack, so we can be on the same page. You said that my memories sound like a mixture of forgotten memories, repressed memories, and memories pushed aside. To that, I told you I could not distinguish one from the other. What I meant was one “term” from the other. So tell me, how do those 3 terms differ? To me, they have the same meaning.

    Then you made a blanket statement, “That’s what memory/recall is about. It is a confabulation of all aspects of it.”

    Confabulation means fabricating the gaps in one’s memory. The gaps in my memory of the gang rape amount to over 99%, meaning that from the time I was drugged until the time I woke up the next morning, I was conscious only for about 2 minutes. These 2 minutes of consciousness are the memories I am able to describe accurately and in the order they occurred. Now if I were to delve into my unconscious periods, that would be confabulation.

    Quoting, “If you had had a different therapist, you might still be trying to find memories that weren’t there.” Jeanette, do you remember me telling you that the memories were spontaneous and that no therapist or therapy was involved?

    Like

    Reply
    • Geri,
      To my knowledge, forgotten memories are just that – forgotten and when prompted by say a parent, we say, “oh yeah, I remember that.” Repressed memories, according to Freudian theory, are those that are hidden, or buried, in the unconscious. Meaning we have no awareness or knowledge that they are there. By pushing aside memories, I mean that we are totally aware of an event, and choose to put it “behind us” so to speak and not deal with them, or acknowledge them.

      Again, confabulation to my understanding is more than fabrication. It is a mixture of filling in the gaps, actual facts and fantasy or making up what we think may have occurred. I agree to your definition of confabulation of the 99% of your other memories of that event.

      I didn’t mean that you had a therapist. What I was saying is that you are lucky you didn’t find a therapist who would have you belted onto their couch for an infinite amount of time.

      Appreciate you taking the time to clarify. Hope this helps.

      Like

      Reply
  3. geri cisk

     /  08/08/2011

    I’ve been trying to answer your comment for days. The trouble is that I don’t know how to distinguish forgotten memories vs repressed memories vs memories pushed aside. Robust remembering is easier to identify, but even so, were my memories really robust (as I said earlier) if it took me months and months to regain them? The robust part happened initially, but the overall process was a struggle.

    Something else I’m curious about and this applies mainly to the 2nd and 3rd incidents — At the very end of the “memory discovery” process, I felt satisfied that the journey was over … that there was nothing else to remember. It was a marked feeling of peace and relief, like a switch turning off. At that point, I had no further need to chase the missing chunks of my conscious moments, which account for only 10%, since I was unconscious most of the time due to being drugged. Is this sudden calmness significant?

    Another thing occurred to me since commenting on your blog – I think the missing chunks were the direct result of my refusal to face the fact that I had been so deceived, tricked … not only once, but three times. That and the trauma caused a major blockout.

    Regarding the 3rd incident, my disheveled clothing was not a tip-off. I didn’t need a confirmation to know what had happened. I knew within a few seconds after waking up, quite possibly with my eyes still closed.

    I have a better understanding of your skepticism. In your case, a therapist “forced” you to remember false events. That was a horrible injustice! If the shoe were on the other foot, I would have serious doubts about your recovered memories. Keep in mind, though, how would it be possible for me to put into writing hundreds of details without contradicting myself? That’s why I love it when the perp tries to challenge me on anything specific, and of course, he would never put anything in writing.

    Like

    Reply
    • G, I am not surprised that you find that sorting out memories difficult as you put it: The trouble is that I don’t know how to distinguish forgotten memories vs repressed memories vs memories pushed aside.” That’s what memory/recall is about. It is a confabulation of all aspects of it. Most women & therapists who subscribe to latent remembering of trauma, particularly prolonged and constant, do not know this, outright disregard this fact, and generally do not accept or look at the merit in it.

      I am glad to know that you were able to stop searching for memories and found peace. If you had had a different therapist, you might still be trying to find memories that weren’t there.

      In my case, I was able to string a lot of details together without contradicting my self. When I did, however, it was labeled another personality rather than pure contradicting. There is a total Catch-22 in this diagnosis. If you don’t remember (or have anything left to remember) it’s because another “personality” holds the memories. If you Do remember and have intense feelings and abreactions, it must be true. Afterall, as I was told, you wouldn’t have intense feelings about something that never happened. That’s a lie.

      There is no factoring into the equation how someone would feel just thinking about familial betrayal and abuse. Who wouldn’t be upset thinking their family didn’t love them and abused them in the most heinous manner. Add to that the fact that “memories” have facts sprinkled in them. Maybe a place, a person, a situation – then whatever is recalled is more believable.

      Like

      Reply

What do you think?

