Where Are We Going? An Update on Assessment, Treatment, and Neurobiological Research in Dissociative Disorders as We Move Towards the DSM-5

Journal of Trauma & Dissociation

Abstract

This article provides an overview of the process of developing the Fifth Edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of the American Psychiatric Association (DSM-5) with a focus on issues related to the trauma-related disorders, particularly the dissociative disorders (DD). Also, we discuss the highlights of research within the last five years in the assessment, treatment and neurobiological basis for trauma disorders. Recent research shows that DD are associated with severe symptoms as well as a higher rate of utilization of mental health treatment, compared with other psychiatric disorders. As a result, DD, like other complex posttraumatic disorders, exact a high economic as well as personal burden for patients and society. The latest research indicates that DD patients show a suboptimal response to standard exposure-based treatments for PTSD, as well as high levels of attrition from treatment. An emerging body of research on DD treatment, primarily of naturalistic and open trials, indicates that patients who receive specialized treatment that addresses their trauma-based, dissociative symptoms show improved functioning and reduced symptoms. Recent studies of the underlying neurobiological basis for dissociation support a model of excessive limbic inhibition in DD that is consistent with the phenomenology and clinical presentation of these patients. We are optimistic that the forthcoming DSM-5 will stimulate research on dissociation and the DD and suggest areas for future studies.

Retrieved 9/23/11. Journal of Trauma & Dissociation Cost to purchase article $34.00 US dollars

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Karmakaze

     /  12/07/2014

    Dr. Weissman, do you question the academic credentialing of Richard McNally and Allen Frances (among many others)? To say that DID is highly disputed might be understating the situation.

    McNally: http://news.harvard.edu/gazette/story/2012/08/a-story-that-doesnt-hold-up/

    Frances: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/allen-frances/multiple-personality-is-i_b_4695915.html

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Dr. Weissman

     /  12/04/2014

    Jennifer, your lack of academic credentialing confirms your flawed judgments. I am truly sorry for your misunderstandings and misinformed views on the subject matter of Dissociative Identity Disorder. I saw that you were once diagnosis with the disorder of MPD, and now have only your personal experience and perspectives to base your disbelief on. Dissociative Identity Disorder does exist and many people are trapped in the burning house of pain that created the splintering for them in the first place. I am truly, truly sorry for your pain and now bitterness. Please seek professional help so that you too can find peace and resolve for your own mental instabilities. For you to post so much on the subject matter now believing that it is not an accurate disorder tells me that you feel betrayed and are lashing out.

    Like

    Reply
    • Dr. Weissman

       /  12/04/2014

      Jeanette, I apologize for calling you Jennifer.

      Like

      Reply
    • What?

      Allow me to correct several “factual” mistakes you made.

      First, sir, my name is not Jennifer.

      If you don’t take the time to know my name, you clearly demonstrate the points I make on this blog over and over and over. And that is that people like you who support Dissociative Identity Disorder & multiple personalities don’t do their homework before spouting nonsense.

      Secondly, I have academic credentials. If you read my blog, you’d know that.

      You critiqued me, not the article written by Bethany Brand who is a member of the ISST-D. How about it? Anything to say?

      Then, you offered me “professional” advise on the internet when clearly you not only don’t know me, but you haven’t read the articles I post.

      Seems that you have “lashing out” confused with educating the public about a mental malady steeped in controversy and has shown how potentially harmful DID therapy can be.

      Lastly, sir. I suggest you do some homework about what I write before offering “professional” analysis and recommendations on how I should conduct my personal affairs.

      Shame on you.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Karen

     /  07/18/2014

    Greetings Jeanette Bartha, I wish you were right about Dissociative Identity Disorder not existing… But, unfortunately your wrong and I’m here tonight sadden by the fact that it is real and I suffer from it and all the destruction it leaves in it’s wake.

    Like

    Reply
    • Hello Karen.

      What makes you right and me wrong? Is it because you have it? I thought I had it too – so what does that say? I was right but now I’m wrong? Why is that? How did that happen?

      Like

      Reply
  4. Scheila Newton

     /  06/22/2012

    I’m thinking I might want to buy this journal article but I’m not sure based on the topic, are you saying MPD isn’t true or are you supporting that it is true. I was given your information by a Dr. and asked to check out your studies.

    Like

    Reply
    • Hello Scheila, I am saying that multiple personalities do not exist and it is not a mental illness.

      What is your position?

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      Reply
      • Karen

         /  07/18/2014

        Why do you believe that DID is not real?

        Like

        Reply
        • Karen, I’ve posted many reasons I don’t believe in the diagnosis of DID. Somewhere on this blog there’s a post by that title. If I can find it, I’ll post the link.

          Like

          Reply

What do you think?

