Dr. James A. Chu, MD to speak on “recalled memories”

Boston.com announces

Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 7:30p to 8:35p

Can a painful memory be lost, yet decades later be recalled in detail? That question led lawyers for Street Priest Paul Shanley to appeal his conviction of indecent assault and rape of a child. The verdict held, but the topic is controversial.
James Chu, MD is the psychiatrist who provided testimony on recovered memories for the prosecution in the Shanley trial, and for the prosecution in the Christian Gerhartsreiter kidnapping case. He advised the defense in the Amy Bishop murder case.

http://calendar.boston.com/concord_ma/events/show/297720925-dr-james-a-chu-md-to-speak-on-recalled-memories

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. That was too easy. You’re mellowing!

    But … thank you and hugs.

    Like

    Reply
    • Jeanette Bartha

       /  12/22/2012

      😉 Mellowing or getting wiser? Contrary to what many believe, I read comments and learn lots. lol I reserve the right to educate myself.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Jeanette, it’s nice to chat with you again. Some time ago, my bookmark for your blog no longer worked. Anyhow, we have been over this memory topic so many times 🙂

    Something horrific happened to me eons ago. I didn’t deal with it, think about it, or tell anyone. A few years ago, the memory was triggered and, eventually, I was able to recall much of it.

    I’m sure you’ll continue to tell me my memory is wrong. Perhaps I’m a freak of nature.

    Like

    Reply
    • Jeanette Bartha

       /  12/17/2012

      Hi Georgia,

      I re-read your blog this weekend.

      I’m not saying your memories are wrong. I am skeptical when people have no memories of events until decades later. Doesn’t seem you fall in that category. If indeed you are correct about your attacker(s) I applaud you for keeping at it. Best to you.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Yes, a painful memory CAN be lost, yet decades later be recalled in detail.

    Like

    Reply
    • Jeanette Bartha

       /  12/16/2012

      Hello Georgia,

      I disagree with you. Human memory does not operate in that fashion.

      If nothing else, please realize a fact missing from this type of statement. All memories are full of facts, fantasy, and misremembering.

      May I offer a challenge to your thinking? Read Richard Ofshe, Carol Tavris, and Elizabeth Loftus. All will educate you on the mechanisms of memory storage and recall. Best.

      Like

      Reply

What do you think?

