YouTube: Dissociative Mind in Crisis ***triggering***

Dissciative Mind in Crisis

“This clip is for adults only – it contains images not suitable for children. This clip tries to show what this particular dissociative mind does when in crisis. It was done to try and get a focus on a project and complete something as a way of staying safe.” Uploaded 5/30/11.

This blogger did not add the trigger warning; it was part of the title. Trigger warnings seem to attract multiple personality readers, not warn them that reading may upset them (or an alter).

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I’m still unsure why, because you feel you were led by your therapist to imagine things that were not real, you jump from that to the conclusion that everyone else must be imagining things as well.

    I’ve tried to stay away from this website but the article made me remember it.
    I find this so discomforting. You feel the need to take a stance against something because you think you are an expert.

    Like

    Reply
    • No, I’m not an expert. Never said I was. But, my former doctor is an expert in the diagnosis and treatment of DID, so is Richard Kluft, MD who gave me a second opinion and arrived at the same conclusions.

      Tell me this. Why is it that my experiences need to be discounted as an excuse as to why I arrived at the conclusion that DID is bogus? I didn’t need to go through what I did to see that.

      Like

      Reply
  2. I wonder what you think of this? For those of us who actually have DID, it isn’t good news, but to those who find it necessary to doubt that anyone else has something simply because they don’t understand it, I find the science to be helpful.

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Shen, I actually came across this the other day and will give it a serious read.

      Sorry, but I don’t approve links before I read them.

      Like

      Reply
      • People who go through severe trauma may have altered brains? That’s no surprise and a no brainer.

        I gave the study a quick read. It is a small number of subjects N = 15 of people diagnosed with dissociative identity disorder and N = 23 without. I don’t think it was a double-blind study so there was no control for researcher bias in interpreting the results. Therefore, we have no way of knowing if the study was set up whereby the researchers found what they were looking for.

        Secondly, I have no idea what the literature says about this study. Were there other studies done like it? What were the results? If there were, what were the conclusions? Were they the same? Similar? Different? I have no way of knowing and would not make an opinion based on one study. In addition if several studies were conducted by people who already support the notion of DID then we have another dynamic in play.

        This could very well be good preliminary information – I don’t know.

        By the tone of your post, it seems like you want me to comment on this study and how it relates to DID? People diagnosed with DID may have had trauma in their past. I don’t know and don’t question it. It is their personal narrative.

        I am glad you brought this to our attention for 2 reasons:

        1. is that I am misunderstood regarding my stance on DID. I think it is assumed that I don’t believe people were sexually abused and/or that they sustained severe trauma. No where will you find a statement like that made by me. I don’t believe that DID is a way to cope with trauma and I don’t think multiple personalities exist – that does not mean I don’t think childhood sexual abuse doesn’t happen. It does, it’s horrific and society needs to help those who endured it. Period.

        2. is that looking at this study at face value and using it as proof that DID people have brain alterations is a dangerous conclusion to come away with for the reasons I mentioned above. You seem to have already done so and the study may be wrong. Science has specific controls required so we can know if indeed the results can be replicated over and over and over. One study alone does not make for a definitive answer for anything. It makes for many, many questions and a beginning for further research. And patients have no reason to think their brains are corrupted until such time as other studies are done.

        This example is a good learning point for consumers of mental health care who may know little about the scientific approach to psychology – which does exist, but must be scrutinized in its entirety, not as a stand-alone example.

        Thanks again.

        This link is to the article, not to the website you offered because it is one that supports DID and other fringe ideas that have no scientific backing. If anyone wants to know about this article, please go directly to the source, rather than to an interpretation of it. Again, when you can, omit bias – mine or anyone elses. http://ajp.psychiatryonline.org/cgi/content/abstract/163/4/630

        Like

        Reply

What do you think?

