National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs & Practices

The National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP) is a division of the United Stated Department of Health & Human Services, Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services (SAMHSA).

I searched for evidence-based therapies for multiple personalities and another for dissociative identity disorder — results? Zero, Zip, Nada.

Does the evidence-based science of psychology trump the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)?  Which is to ask, does the rigor of scientific inquiry trump a manual which simply lists symptoms of disorders used to bill insurance companies?

Sadly, many turn away from evidence and accept an empty manual (DSM) because it lists their particular disorder – which irrationally leads to the belief that the “disorder” is real and then proves is exists.

Simple questions:

Do you want to buy therapy that is reliable and tested for its validity, or not?

Are you willing to take a chance on untested treatment regarding your mental health?

Your choice.

~~~~~~~~~~

NREPP Quality of Research

NREPP’s Quality of Research ratings are indicators of the strength of the evidence supporting the outcomes of the intervention. Higher scores indicate stronger, more compelling evidence. Each outcome is rated separately because interventions may target multiple outcomes (e.g., alcohol use, marijuana use, behavior problems in school), and the evidence supporting the different outcomes may vary.

NREPP uses very specific standardized criteria to rate interventions and the evidence supporting their outcomes. All reviewers who conduct NREPP reviews are trained on these criteria and are required to use them to calculate their ratings.

Criteria for Rating Quality of Research

Each reviewer independently evaluates the Quality of Research for an intervention’s reported results using the following six criteria:

  1. Reliability of measures
  2. Validity of measures
  3. Intervention fidelity
  4. Missing data and attrition
  5. Potential confounding variables
  6. Appropriateness of analysis

Reviewers use a scale of 0.0 to 4.0, with 4.0 being the highest rating given.

Retrieved 5/20/11. National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs & Practiced

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Wow. Great discussion.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Rachel

     /  05/24/2011

    Hey, I admire what you are doing here, Jeanette Bartha. It is funny– I have been dx’d with DID since 2001, and I have LEARNED more from reading your stuff than I have anywhere else! Whether DID is real or no– I think yes and no. I personally believe that the SYMPTOMS described in a person(s) who are diagnosed with DID are very real– I know. I have them. But to scrunch so many things together and jam them up into one single solitary dx, and then to really have only one recommended treatment is absurd, in my opinion (speaking as a patient who has the dx, not as a professional). I have met 3 other people with DID, and the day to day experiences we have are DRASTICALLY different– it is as though we have nothing in common, and yet, I really do feel as if I am plural, and really do feel that two of them are plural as well (the third being “coconscious”)– and we all have the constant struggles, the emotional barriers, the stress, and the trauma, not only of experiences past, but of living with a “hocus pocus” diagnosis of which half of the mental health community believe is very real and the other half believe is utter nonsense. I am torn (as are my 3 friends) on what exactly to believe when it comes to this dx. I have been in different “treatments” and some have caused more harm than good, and others have caused some actual good. When I look for support for DID, I find all of this fluff– no groups, no MDs, no peers who “get it”, and some stuff that really rubs me/us the wrong way, like folks who brag that they are proud of this shit, or that they have special powers because of it, or they are posessed, either by “past lives” or demons or something like that, or they’ve been beamed up by who knows what, or because there trauma stemmed from the prenatal stage (how the hell can anyone validate this, I have no idea), and of all of these weird treatments, like being told over and over that something horrible took place in my life, and that my own memory is not to be trusted and that if I am serious about “wanting to get better” I’d better take the worker’s word or else, or admitting that something exists within my “system” when it doesn’t, or dissociating (making all of these imaginary “safe places”) as a means of ending dissociation, or energy healing, etc. (this I can write a book on alone)– but there are things about me/us that I can’t deny: that I really do live life as “we”, that certain things are not in my head– like the fact that some of us eat peanut products and have to be rushed to the ER for shock, while others within experience no such thing, vision changes, uncontrollable voice changes and feeling of being a third party to my own lilfe, losing time (and yes I’ve had every test and scan and blood work-EVERYTHING, to try to explain these things away and I haven’t been able to), that the “children” and “males” within cannot and do not menstruate– even in the middle of the heaviest times- and that strangers on the street seem to know me intimately by other names– and the worst: the impact all of this has had on my life- my kids having an unstable mother, and my spouse having an unstable wife, my education being forced to stop, not being able to keep a job, and hating but needing to live on disability income.
    Okay, this reply is getting really long. Just thank you for your contribution for making the community aware to question vs. believing everything that they see and hear, no matter which POV you take. I/We appreciate all of your hard work and efforts.

    Like

    Reply
    • Wow. Rachel, I didn’t see that one coming! Thank you so much – I am pleased that some information on this blog is helpful to you. When someone new shows up on my blog, I find myself holding my breath wondering what they want to say and how I may be told how awful I am. Few comments get censored here, so I let ’em rip.

      You are surly exceptional in that you say you have DID yet you are reading and learning – good for you. I wish I had had all that insight and information when I was living as a DID person. I can imagine that it can be confusing and unsettling as well.

      I had Symptoms of DID as well – with all respect, it meant a hill of beans in the end. I abreacted constantly, relived each and every “memory”; had gut wrenching crying jags believing I was abused and no one protected me; with frustration and utter hate and anger, I kicked holes in the walls of my bedroom at the hospital; spit; sputtered; yelled and otherwise created chaos; curled in a ball as a little alter; hugged teddy bears and dolls that therapists gave me; needed pills to sleep; ate poorly; and slept irregularly. I’m sure some of that sounds familiar. I learned that feelings lie. Mine were prompted by therapy and what I learned from my doctor about what a real multiple does, behaves, feels, and thinks. I was a good student of MPD/DID.

      When you say people don’t “get it” what are you referring to?

      Yes, this has a huge impact on our lives. I am fortunate that I had no children so didn’t pull them into my drama. I can’t imagine how you must feel as a mother and wife. There is a woman who calls herself “V” who shows up here once in a while. She is the daughter of an MPD mother, you might try to find her comments. Some are under the category “My Mom has MPD.” It’s hard to keep track of these things. V has insight that taught me much and you might find her helpful too. A very courageous woman who got through her mother’s ordeal.

      I lost every tangible object I had and all my money to MPD – and now I am experiencing the physical fallout from the trauma of therapy. And for a while, lost all my family and friends. Fortunately, my family is stronger than the suggestions of a misguided psychiatrist – no matter how long he locked me away. I found my way out and my family has healed. Best to you, Jeanette

      Like

      Reply
  3. Steve

     /  05/23/2011

    During the course of the lawsuit I filed against my former therapists I found out that state licensing boards were not my friend. The grievance review boards are comprised of professionals who watch out for their colleagues, not patients.

    It shouldn’t be up to health insurance companies to rid the field of poor practices, rather, the field should police itself to bring practice in line with research, but this isn’t being done, in my experience.

    Psychotherapists enjoy a good living billing for their services under the rubric of medicine. They should be forced to adhere to the same rigors required of medical practice.

    Like

    Reply
    • Amen.
      Failure to self-police in the psychology industry is a big problem. Seems the best patients, and advocates, can do about sloppy treatment is to file complaints. They Do go on record.

      No only insurance companies rid the field of poor practices. The courts are jammed with cases on the docket.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Therapy Abuse Victim

     /  05/23/2011

    I am very interested in obtaining statistics (yes, actual DATA) from insurance companies regarding: the number of claims they have received from individuals labeled with the “DID” (or other “dissociative disorder, ” e.g., DDNOS) insurance codes EACH year since the height of the False Memory fights (when litigation resulted in millions of dollars being won from perpetrator “DID therapists”).

    Further, I would like to obtain data on how the total amounts covered for clients seeing psychotherapists once a “dissociative” code, and particularly the “DID” or “DDNOS” code is submitted by therapists.

    It is my hypothesis that the number of insurance claims has risen (probably rather steeply) since the furor over “the False Memory Wars” abated toward the end of the 1990’s AND that the money paid out in coverage for psychotherapy rises significantly if a therapist submits a “DID”/”DDNOS” code for a client, because such client victims will surely be made worse by this sort of “therapy.”

    I believe that if insurance companies looked into this matter, and became educated about the serious scientific evidence decrying this “diagnosis” and “therapy,” THEY–the INSURANCE COMPANIES–would lead the way in public debate and in putting an END to this cult-like sect damaging clients and bilking the insurance industry of (likely) billions of dollars!!

    Since we–the victims–have no reliable consumer protection or legal recourse in most cases–maybe MONEY, which is the bottom line for insurance companies, might be get the insurance companies interested, might spark a huge public debate, might lead to some NEW ACTION being taken to protect mental healthcare consumers and (dare i even think it?)–help lead to both expose and exterminate this tragic fraud perpetrated by a distinct, very successful sect within the psychotherapy industry.

    Let’s see if anyone reading this has some ideas of how to gather the data from insurance companies. I’d bet the companies would be interested in looking into whether they are being bilked by many “therapists” who are “diagnosing” and “treating” without sufficient empirical justification or professional ethics. The interest of insurance companies in FRAUD might be the beginning of forcing the psychotherapy industry to re-evaluate what it allows to go on within its own ranks!!

    Anyone have any ideas on how to investigate such statistics? I’ll check with some epidemiologists, and maybe with my own insurance company. Still, I’d appreciate any other ideas or documented statistics from some of the companies providing “psychotherapy” coverage.

    Like

    Reply
    • @TAV – please look into insurance company statistics.

      What I know is that insurance companies (mine) eventually cut of all monies for therapy – but only after 2 or so years of treatment. That was a long time ago. It left me in a regressed state worrying about having to go to a state hospital. As time rolled on, insurance companies became skeptical and questioned funding MPD/DID therapy. Probably because it requires lots of sessions and there is No evidence that it is effective. If there was evidence regarding effectiveness, we would see many healed and recovered patients. But we don’t.

      What has happened, I think, is that therapists got smart and are billing insurance companies for PTSD, and not DID. PTSD is usually a secondary diagnosis, as are others like borderline personality disorder, so they use it. Then there is public funding that is tapped into for patients who either lose or do not have insurance. In my experience alone, every friend of mine with a DID diagnosis was unable to work & I suspect that is a fact continues to run through the DID community. Some of them can be covered under a spouses policy. If patients like me had a job and insurance coverage when entering therapy they (like myself) lose their jobs and the insurance goes dry. Therefore, public funds are required for DID treatment to continue.

      There is another aspect to be looked at: the therapists. They are largely caring people who, no matter how misguided and uneducated, see patients without being paid. They also run over the usual one hour session – also without pay. So they have to get creative to get money from insurance companies – again they use the PTSD and other diagnostic codes that insurance companies accept. Easy as eating pie.

      Like

      Reply

What do you think?

