In Memoriam: To those who died while struggling to live with multiple personalities

English: Flower arrangement for funeral Dansk:...

English: Flower arrangement for funeral Dansk: (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

January 2013.

There was another tragic death in the community of people believing in, and living with, multiple personalities and/or the diagnosis of Dissociative Identity Disorder.

Prompted by the recent suicide of a woman named “Sara” and to my friends, this post was created.

Below is a list of people who took their life believing they harbored alter selves, multiple personalities, parts, or other psychotherapy. Some were in therapy; some were my friends.

You are welcome to add your loved ones to this list.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Beth S., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

Barb, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

Lori Ann N., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA, (age 26)

Candace Newmaker (age 10), nee Candace Tiarra Elemore, North Carolina, USA, Killed during rebirthing therapy

Sara, blogger, approx. January, 2013.

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. It’s enormous that you are getting ideas from this paragraph as well as
    from our argument made at this place.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Bourbon

     /  05/01/2014

    I feel sorry that your post about the deaths of your friends, and mine, has turned into a debate on who has said what on which blogs. Like I said, just goes to show, life is too short and important.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Bourbon

     /  04/24/2014

    Sara was a lot more than just someone who “believed she had alter selves”. She was a human being. I don’t think anyone deserves to be put on a list dictated by their diagnosis.

    Like

    Reply
    • I hear you, Bourbon. It was my intent to honor Sara, not defame her as you’ve interpreted it. I’ve named friends of mine in this post, whom I loved, who died during treatment for multiple personalities. I don’t take this lightly and how dare you insert your opinion saying that I am.

      If you are sensitive to this issue, then you’d better not attend any professional conferences where case studies are discussed with hundreds of participants. Don’t read research either because many are based on the psychological profile of humans.

      I am not going to permit the deaths of psychiatric patients to be hidden in some remote corner of life. They were sensitive and loving people who were murdered while asking for help.

      Like

      Reply
      • Bourbon

         /  05/01/2014

        I think you misunderstood the tone of my message. I did not at all “insert my opinion” saying you’re “taking it lightly”. No need to be so defensive, Jeanette, or rude for that matter.

        Like

        Reply
        • Bourbon, I actually didn’t get a tone from your post: “Sara was a lot more than just someone who “believed she had alter selves”. She was a human being. I don’t think anyone deserves to be put on a list dictated by their diagnosis.” Had you not added the second statement I’d have taken you differently.

          Rude? Have I devoted an entire post defaming you as you have to me on your blog Crazy in the Coconut? Do I encourage my readership to leave comments about you as you have done to me? I’ll get links or screenshots of you and your readers defaming me. There would be no reason for me to take you comment any way by a slam. I can only imagine the conversations on your blog buried behind the “need a password” section.

          Gees already.

          Like

          Reply
          • Bourbon

             /  05/01/2014

            Like I said you’re mistaken. If Sara’s desperate situation taught me anything it’s that life is too big and important to have spatty conversations. Wishing you the best.

            Like

          • Thanks, Bourbon but I don’t think you wish me the best so why say so? Nonetheless, thanks for being a member of my blog. I hope you find it interesting from time to time.

            LOL interesting how you did a “no comment” in response to me bringing up the defamatory comments and posts about me on your blog http://crazyinthecoconut.co.uk/ That’s how many survivors treat me so I’m not surprised, just a little pissed off at the moment because of your behavior.

            Like

          • Bourbon

             /  05/01/2014

            Ps the blogs behind the passwords are about my life and have nothing to do with you. As in, literally, they are not about you and never have been.

            Like

          • Bourbon

             /  05/01/2014

            Actually, I do wish you the best. Which is why I say so.

            Like

          • OK, then I apologize. I don’t want enemies, but what I’ve read on your blog about me it’s hard to imagine you wishing me well.

            Like

          • Ah, I see the post about me and my blog remain on yours.

            http://crazyinthecoconut.co.uk//?s=jeanette&search=Go

            Like

          • Bourbon

             /  05/01/2014

            I literally just took it off private to send you a link and see if it was that one you were referring to. In the original post I didn’t defame you at all. I have every right to write on my blog what I think. Same as you do on yours. Those points in the post I still 100% agree with.

            Like

          • You are correct, you did not defame me in this post and you have every right to post what you want. You do not, however, have a right to defame others.

            There were several posts on your blog where you and your readers had fun poking at me and making less than admirable comments about me and my character. You all fed off each other and had a great time at my expense. You know what I am talking about. I’ll find the links and the comments; I’ll post them here so you and my readers know what I’m referring to.

            Like

          • Bourbon

             /  05/01/2014

            Actually, I don’t know what you are talking about.

            Like

          • Oh? Look in your archives. I will post the links and copy some of the comments.

            Like

          • Bourbon

             /  05/01/2014

            In my archives there is one post written about you. Which is what reply post. That is all.

            Like

          • OK, thank you for looking.

            Like

          • Good to know. What about the posts and comments defaming me? Did you have a change of heart and deleted them?

            Like

  4. Sheri Storm

     /  02/05/2013

    I am so sorry. I think it would be unfathomable to see a complete, global list.

    Like

    Reply
    • Jeannette Bartha

       /  02/05/2013

      I would like to have a global list. These women deserve to have a voice.

      Like

      Reply

What do you think?

