Dissociative Identity Disorder Kills

Originally published under the title: “MPD Kills” when Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) was called Multiple Personality Disorder (MPD). The basic premise of the disorder and treatment, however, have not changed significantly.

_________

MPD Kills

by Jaye D. Bartha

“Jaye, Betty Ann is dead!” she screamed into my ear through the phone.

“What!” I answered in horror.

“Yeah. She took an overdose.” Kathy frantically gave me blow by blow details as if she were an excited sports commentator. Gasping, she continued, “They saved her but when she returned to the hospital she ran from her wheelchair, sprinted down the hall, collapsed and died right there on the spot. She’s dead! Betty Ann is dead! She was my best friend. What am I going to do?”

Betty Ann was 26. Her death was the second I dealt with while a patient of repressed memory therapy. I buried two more friends, before realizing Multiple Personality Disorder (MPD) was a bogus diagnosis, and one more after that. Five friends dead. Each death occurred during treatment for (MPD), now referred to as Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID).

It seems to me that patients in treatment for MPD/DID often live in a chronic state of suicidal thinking and that acting out suicidal impulses is a by-product of treatment. While the intense search for memories of abuse is in progress, I observed doctors and hospital staff making provisions for suicidal behavior. They hospitalized patients, increased medication, instituted suicide watches, and in extreme cases implemented physical and/or chemical restraints.

In my experience, suicide is a pervasive problem of treatment for MPD/DID and should be yanked out of the dark corner of treatment closets. This diagnosis is a serious threat to human life and ought to be addressed as such. The medical community supporting the MPD/DID diagnosis often views suicide as the patient’s inability to cope with the horrors of an abusive past when, in fact, it is the treatment itself that is likely the culprit.

Originally published in the FMS Foundation  Newsletter, April/May 1999  Vol. 8  No. 3, ISSN #1069-0484. Copyright (c) 1998  by  the  FMS Foundation

Reprint by permission only.

Creative Commons License
DID Kills by Jeanette BArtha is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at www.mentalhealthmatters2.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at www.mentalhealthmatters2.wordpress.com.

https://i0.wp.com/www.clipartbest.com/cliparts/Kcj/o5r/Kcjo5rgBi.jpeg

 

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I’m not sure we’re on opposite ends for everything. You and I both agree that the healing methodology currently used is VERY destructive to most people. What we disagree about is whether the disorder itself is valid.

    Like

    Reply
    • Jeannette Bartha

       /  04/02/2013

      True, Sam. Destructive with permanent injury.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Anonymous

     /  04/01/2013

    Yes, it kills, it destroys lives, it damages lives. It would be good if those who found some path to justice and/or to recovery would join in the fight to stop this unnecessary evil. The promoters and practitioners of DID/DDNOS/MPD “therapy” are destroying lives every day, as they have done for several decades. It is time to stop them. It is time for it to end.

    Like

    Reply
    • Jeannette Bartha

       /  04/01/2013

      “Destroy” to me, also includes living for 1/2 your life as “multiple” and being in therapy all those years searching for memories of abuse – after 10,15 years what’s the point?

      Like

      Reply
  3. Jeanette,

    you know that I believe you are throwing the baby out with the bathwater on this issue. I nearly have my wife thru the healing process and I have checked with her from time to time and she has NEVER had suicide issues, NEVER needed anti-depressants or anti-psyschotics. You are judging the diagnosis based upon your experience of their (ISSTD) treatment methods. But my wife/my girls have had a completely different experience because the way I and their counselor helped them heal.

    I deeply regret what you and all the others I read on wordpress have had to endure because ISSTD does NOT have a proper working model of the disorder AND therefore does NOT have a proper working model of the methodology required to safely heal this disorder. As my wife and I have traveled this path together, I have formed both, and so she has done wonderfully.

    Take care.

    Sam

    Like

    Reply
    • Jeannette Bartha

       /  04/01/2013

      Hi Sam, Good to hear from you & I’m happy to know your wife continues to get well. Is there anywhere you can publish what you’ve learned and experienced because, unfortunately, your experiences are not the norm. As you expressed a long time ago, your ideas do not meet with the ISSTD ideas on treatment. You may very well be doing something in the direction of healing that the ‘professionals are unwilling to try.

      Always appreciate it when you stop by. Best to you and your wife. Jeanette

      Like

      Reply
      • Hi Jeannette,

        I’m keeping a very detailed journal and I use my blog to outline what I’ve learned helping my wife heal, but so far it’s attracted very little interest. Maybe once my wife is done healing, we’ll be able to find someone willing to listen to our experience.

        Take care!

        Sam

        Like

        Reply
        • Jeannette Bartha

           /  04/01/2013

          Well, Sam, I realize we’re on the ends of a continuum, but I’m listening.

          Like

          Reply

What do you think?

