Helen: Woman with 7 Personalities, Part 2 (YouTube)

Running Time: 15:01

This video includes interviews with:

Dr. Larry Culliford, psychiatrist, Royal College of Psychiatrists

Dr. Joan Coleman, psychiatrist who works with ritually & satanically abused people.

Overview:

  • Helen and her friend visit a former teacher
  • It is reveled that Helen is a recovering alcoholic
  • Overt eye blinking to indicate personality change & display of child personalities and baby talk
  • Reveled that Helen cannot hold a job, is living in a counseling flat (public housing) and survives on benefits
  • Shows piles of pills & bottles of medicines that Helen consumes including: sleeping pills, anti-psychotics, antidepressants, central nervous system depressant – Valium, and many over the counter products to quell the side-effects of these pharmaceutical drugs
  • Minute 5:20 Helen states she overdosed on pills over 100 times

Her friend continues the quest to find out what is causing Helen so much pain.

  • Minute 9:20 Helen claims she was “severely abused as a child”
  •           10: 39 Dr. Larry Culliford interview

The quest to find who is responsible for Helen’s condition

  • Minute 13:30 ritual and satanic ritual abuse introduced
  •             13:51 Dr. Joan Coleman interview

Retrieved  10/07/11. YouTube: Woman with 7 personalities Part 2

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Sue Williamson

     /  12/13/2011

    I saw the documentary for the first time last night, I noticed in the credits it listed Young Helen as ..sorry I can’t remember but I’m assuming an actress. That is what got me curious to do a bit of a search on her thinking perhaps it was not meant to be a true account at all. Just wondering why there would be an actress in a documentary, any ideas.

    Like

    Reply
    • If I recall correctly, they were planning to make this documentary into a film and were conducting a casting call for actresses to play her as a child.

      Like

      Reply
  2. avalon111

     /  10/10/2011

    Helen’s story very much mirrors that of the Carol Felstead (www.justiceforcarol.com) scandal which has been unfolding in the UK this year. The Carol Felstead scandal concerns the circumstances of her death and subsequent events performed seemingly in an effort to avoid its proper investigation.

    As with Helen it appears a vulnerable woman has been introduced to the idea that she is a ‘survivor’ of satanic ritual abuse, and thus vulnerable to the obsessions of a particular brand of mental health professional. The UK’s Dr. Joan Coleman (retired) was a found member of RAINS (Ritual Abuse Information Network and Support) – an organsisation established in 1989 to promote belief in SRA.

    As with many similar cases, Helen’s family and friends have maintained a comprehensive record of her childhood, in photographs and even video. The smiling laughing child on film is supposed to be being satanically-abused at the time. As you would perhaps cynically expect in such cases, the likes of Dr. Coleman couldn’t be bothered to gather a full patient history, noting any particular injuries she received as a child, or time off school (when she was being allegedly satanically-abused).

    An interesting exercise will be ascertain precisely at what point in Helen’s life did she see her mental stability impacted, and to determine if the introduction/encouragement of the idea she had been satanically abused ever assisted her.

    Regrettably, as demonstrated in the Carol Felstead scandal and numerous others in the US and UK (including of course your own Jeanette) some mental health professionals, in an effort to prove their theories about SRA/DID are right, will actively worsen a clients state, rather than treat them correctly.

    Rachel Livermore
    Dramatis Personae – an indexed history of child protection & family justice
    http://www.dramatis.hostcell.net

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Rachel, Thank you for your post. It is refreshing to read an opinion based in fact and logic.

      I noticed the photos of Helen’s childhood. Smiling and seemingly OK. A child who was well fed, properly dressed, and no evident physical injuries – like those reported by SRA survivors. If she was ritually abused, we could expect to see rope burns, evidence of sleep deprivation and a host of other cues that this child may have abuse issues at home. Of course that sentence will totally go against SRA arguments that everything is hidden. I don’t think a child’s physical body could knowing hide such daily torture.

      Helen’s videographer friend, the teacher, and the professionals introduced all had to buy into the belief system that she was suffering from MPD – as you know. Otherwise, the game ends.

      Appreciate the wealth of information you offered readers. It gives us more to read and understand. Please return!

      Like

      Reply
      • V

         /  10/10/2011

        With my mother’s DID, I think that the emphasis on extreme abuse really did my mother a disservice. It ignored more “mild” forms of abuse, as well as other sorts of life difficulties. So, focusing on extreme abuse that never happened took time and attention away from real issues and problems. For example, the issues of growing up in an alcoholic home, or living with a cheating spouse. To a DID therapist, the problems of a kid who isn’t raped daily are considered trivial and boring, and adult issues are totally irrelevant. But I think that these issues of neglect and uncertainty are serious and are generally deserving of theraputic attention. Focusing on fake extreme abuse prevents dealing with these serious, real issues.

        Another set of issues that were totally ignored were here-and-now problems, such as maritial stress, job difficulties, etc. Similarly, physical or biochemical disturbances and other health issues were ignored. Some of these were serious. I think that spending all the money on a personal trainer, or on college courses, or on vacations, would have been 1,000 times more helpful for my mother than the DID “therapy”.

        The result of this is living in the (miserable) past and ignoring the present, and the present is of course the only thing we can really change. So I think that the DID therapy really just made my mother very stuck. The present totally fell apart, and the made-up past just became more and more upsetting over time. And future planning, putting money away for retirement, supporting the kids, were totally ignored.

        Like

        Reply
        • V. I totally agree and it was my experience too.

          The psychiatrist was not interested in present issues or with planning my future. Six years into therapy, when I took a writing class and began fencing at a local gym, he told me it was just another personality that we’ve never seen before and that my endeavors (AKA healthy behaviors) wouldn’t last. He was very wrong.

          During therapy with him I also had group therapy at the hospital. I read all the notes from the doctor/facilitator (I’ll call her Dr. Sandberg) and she Never mentioned that I overtly displayed multiple personalities. I must note that after I fled therapy, I went back to Dr. Sandberg for help because she is level headed, got straight to the point, and knew all the players in my former treatment at the hospital. I asked her why she agreed to treat me knowing that I was suing the doctor. Dr. Sandberg said something like: well, I didn’t do anything about it when it was happening, but I can do something about it now. She was one of 2 people out of the 50 or more on my treatment teams over the years who had the integrity to acknowledge & correct her mistake.

          Regarding physical and/or biochemical issues. I asked for a second opinion from a psychopharmocologist – a psychiatrist that has expertise in the treatment of biochemical disorders. He prescribed medication and a treatment plan, but the psychiatrist essentially threw out the report and made no use of it. Guess it didn’t fit into his belief system.

          DID therapy does make you stuck – it did me. It is a closed-loop-system that keeps you going round and round with no way out, but you don’t know it when it happens. Every memory leads to another and another and another. Every question you have, there is an answer no matter how illogical. Once you are entrenched in DID therapy the illogical becomes normal and logical within the warped belief system that you are coerced into accepting. Outside opinions and influences are marked as abusive or dangerous so you are kept within the framework of the DID world and subsequent lifestyle.

          Like

          Reply
          • V

             /  10/10/2011

            I am glad the fencing, athletics and writing lasted longer than the therapy!

            Is Dr Sandberg the one who yelled at you later? I am glad there was some doctor interested in doing the right thing, but I have to wonder why she didn’t act if she saw abuses of patients going on. Has she spoken out about other cases, after seeing yours?

            In the context of the video, it’s clear there is some problem with the patient. I think that there is some issue going on, whether it’s biochemical or situational or something else, and the DID therapy totally distracts from whatever real issues might be present.

            For my mother, I think she probably had a biochemical or organic disease, combined with a difficult childhood (difficult in a totally different way than the cliche DID ritual abuse storyline, but still difficult enough), an emotionally abusive marriage, and stress from having too little money for the number of kids in the family. But, rather than treat ANY of the real issues that were going on, the doctors chose to treat imaginary issues and go digging for recovered memories. Unsurprisingly, the DID therapy made us poorer, made the marriage worse, turned the kids feral as a result of neglect, and didn’t do anything for the mental illness or childhood stuff. So, everything got worse and worse. I think the DID therapists have to be completely crazy, totally off their rockers. I am not sure if they have a chemical imbalance or a personality disorder, or are just not that bright, but there is something really wrong with them.

            Like

          • No, Dr. Sandberg never yelled at me. I have utmost respect for her, even today.

            From others who witnessed (and participated) in my treatment, I learned that while they thought my doctor was nuts, the bottom line was that they didn’t know for sure if he was right that multiple personalities did exist.

            Another thing about the nurses that cared for me. Several of them made a written, formal complaint to the hospital director about what they found wrong about my doctor’s treatment of his patients – especially me. The complaint went nowhere. During depositions of the director and doctor (under oath) before their negligence and medical malpractice trial, both swore the complaint was never made. Secondly, we as the prosecution could not obtain the doctor’s notes on each other – they are confidential and part of the ole boys club. We conceded and decided to use it on appeal if needed. We never saw the records, just the one from the nurses.

            While I agree with you that the DID therapists have something wrong with them – I think they are rather smart, short-sited, self-centered, and uneducated.

            Like

          • Also, the nurses and psych aides would have been called insubordinate had they refused to carry out doctor’s orders. Their jobs were always in jeopardy if they spoke up. Their pensions were on the line, their income, their ability to pay their mortgage and raise a family all would have suffered if they spoke up in my defense. Bottom line: I was expendable. During my treatment, No One had the fortitude to stop what was happening to me.

            What does that say about the mental health profession and human beings?

            Like

          • V

             /  10/11/2011

            I don’t think the lack of integrity & transparency says anything good about the mental health profession, that’s for sure. The books on recovered memory therapies always talk about how regulation of these therapies only came as a result of lawsuits and legislation, rather than from within the profession. That is shocking and shameful and doesn’t really increase confidence that problems won’t recur in the future.

            I agree with what you said about being expendable. I read the Justice For Carol link above and it also seems clear in that case that the patient was expendable, to be used up like kleenex, discarded, and forgotten. That doctor actually cleaned up the death scene, took the furniture and the patient’s car, and arranged to have the patient cremated without family consent! Talk about a disposable patient!

            In my case it is clear that not only was my mother expendable to the doctors, her children were as well. They took the money they could from us and moved on without ever looking back at the mess they created. It hurts to think that at least one of my siblings really was expended (lost). We all lost a lot in the end.

            It is clear you are speaking up at some cost to yourself, to prevent what happened in your life from happening to others. That is very brave I think!

            I do think that the doctors may have felt better than their patients, so their patients’ lives were unimportant compared to their own financial security and/or intellectual vanity, but at the end of the day most of us have things these DID therapists can’t even imagine, including integrity, the ability to reconsider our opinions (these 2 are highly interrelated I think), the ability to do things for others even if it is less advantageous for ourselves, a sense of irony, etc. I don’t envy DID therapists who lack these things — they don’t even know what they are missing.

            Like

          • Thank you for your kind words, V.

            In my case, I am 100% convinced that my psychiatrist was using me as a guinea pig. I recently found a book he edited titled: Psychedelic Drugs. He was obviously interested in how drugs effected the mind – and poof all these years later I came along with 100% insurance coverage. He must have been elated. Until, that is, the insurance companies cut him off and I sued him for malpractice and negligence.

            I repeatedly said that I was a patient only to give people something to do and an income. How true those words became.

            Like

What do you think?

